Bangabandhu conferred Gandhi Peace Prize 2020

News Desk ||

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, founding father of Bangladesh, is being conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020, Free Press Journal and Zee5 report.

India’s Ministry of Culture unanimously decided to select his name for recognition of his outstanding contribution towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

The jury for Gandhi Peace Prize is chaired by Hon’ble Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprises of two ex-officio members namely the Chief Justice of India and Leader of the single largest Opposition Party in Lok Sabha. Two eminent members are also part of the Jury, namely Shri Om Birla, Speaker of the Lok Sabha, and Shri Bindeshwar Pathak, Founder of Sulabh International Social Service Organization.

The Jury met on 19th March 2021 and after due deliberations and decided to select Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

The award recognizes the immense and unparalleled contribution of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman in inspiring the liberation of Bangladesh, bringing stability to a nation born out of strife, laying the foundation for the close and fraternal relations between India and Bangladesh, and promoting peace and non-violence in the Indian subcontinent.

PM Modi has said that Bangabandhu was a champion of human rights and freedom, and is a hero to Indians as well. He also said that the legacy and inspiration of Bangabandhu has made the heritage of both countries more comprehensive and deep-rooted and that the path shown by Bangabandhu has laid a strong foundation for the partnership, progress and prosperity of both countries over the last decade. As Bangladesh celebrates Mujib Borsho, India is honoured to be commemorating his legacy jointly with the Government of Bangladesh and its people.

The award carries an amount of Rs. 1 crore, a citation, a plaque and an exquisite traditional handicraft/ handloom item. It is an annual award instituted by the Government of India since 1995, the 125th Birth Anniversary commemoration year of Mahatma Gandhi.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button